Leyland Forum
Leyland Historical Society. - Printable Version

+- Leyland Forum (http://forum.leylandtown.co.uk)
+-- Forum: Forum News (/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Members News (/forumdisplay.php?fid=34)
+--- Thread: Leyland Historical Society. (/showthread.php?tid=5148)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5

Leyland Historical Society. - frank h - 02-Feb-2018 09:29 PM

I have spoted an Advert in my local papper, asking for help if you worked at The Motors, Rubber Works, Paint Works, Bleach Works, Cotton Mills or other Factories in Leyland & Farington. The society would like to record your memeries and invite you to come to a FREE meeting on 12th February at the Civic Centre West Paddock at 7.30pm for more information ring -
01772 641604, or visit the society web site.

frank h.

RE: Leyland Historical Society. - noel - 04-Feb-2018 07:51 PM

cheers Frank, I noticed it too. I worked in the rubber industry from 1964 to 2012. BTR Centurion Way 64 to 79, L&B 1988 to 2005 when it closed then various smaller companies . Don't think I will be going to the meeting though, can't imagine i could contribute anything.

RE: Leyland Historical Society. - frank h - 04-Feb-2018 08:55 PM

I might come over and see what it's all about. I worked 38 years as a Joiner for A M Tomlinsons from 1959, we worked in all the Rubber factories, and Paint works and Cotton factory in Farington. My younger brother worked at L&B from 1970-until it closed, my wife also worked there and Leyland paints. My father worked at BTR and Motors North works. Tomlinsons built the Hose shop, the Mixing shop and the extension to the Belt shop at BTR Centurian Way.

frank h.

RE: Leyland Historical Society. - noel - 04-Feb-2018 10:30 PM